Skip to main content

RowanSOM Leadership

We shape the D.O.s and community leaders of tomorrow through personal, dynamic connections between leadership, faculty, staff and students. Our leadership approaches the challenging environment of medical school with a commitment to provide the medical experiences, educational tools and communication skills necessary for our physicians to become caretakers of the osteopathic philosophy.


Executive Administration

Thomas A. Cavalieri, D.O., M.A.C.O.I., F.A.C.P.

Dean of Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine

Philip J. Mesisca, M.B.A., C.M.P.E.

Chief Operating Officer

Michael Rieker, C.M.P.E.

Chief Financial Officer


Linda Boyd, D.O.

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs


Carl E. Hock, Ph.D.

Senior Associate Dean for Research/Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Departments and Centers


Louis Balsama, D.O.

Acting Chair, Surgery


Salvatore Caradonna, Ph.D.

Molecular Biology


Anita Chopra, M.D., F.A.C.P., A.G.S.F., C.M.D.

Geriatrics and Gerontology


Danielle Cooley, D.O.

Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine


Joshua S. Coren, D.O., M.B.A., F.A.C.O.F.P.

Family Medicine


Vincent J. DeRisio, D.O., F.C.A.P.

Acting Chair, Pathology


Adam Holzberg, D.O., F.A.C.O.G.

Obstetrics and Gynecology


Richard Jermyn, D.O., F.A.A.P.M.R.

Rehabilitation Medicine


Jacqueline M. Kaari, D.O., F.A.C.O.P., F.A.A.P.



Francis L. Levin, D.O., F.A.C.E.P.

Acting Chair, Emergency Medicine


Thomas F. Morley, D.O., F.A.C.O.O., F.C.C.P., F.A.A.S.M.



Stephen M. Scheinthal, D.O., D.F.A.C.N., D.F.A.P.A.



Barry Waterhouse, Ph.D.

Cell Biology and Neuroscience