Skip to main content

Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation Self-Study

The Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine is fully-accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) and by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. The last COCA accreditation-focused site visit occurred in March 2017, following the recent class-size increase.

Committee Charges:

  1. Review the pertinent COCA standard
  2. Determine how SOM does or does not meet each standard
  3. Make recommendations for corrective action where standards are not met
  4. Write a report of up to 10 pages.

Feedback regarding any information on this site is welcome. For further information contact:

Jacqueline Giacobbe, M.S.Ed., M.A.
Phone: (856) 566-6980
Fax: (856) 566-6341

View COCA Standards

COCA Self-Study Steering Committee

Linda Boyd, D.O.

Pamela Basehore, Ed.D.

Christine Beswick

Millicent Channell, D.O.

Ronald Ellis, Ph.D.

Jacqueline Giacobbe, M.S., M.A.

Carl Hock, Ph.D.

Kathryn Lambert, D.O.

Alison Mancuso, D.O.

Philip Mesisca, M.B.A.

Michael Rieker

George Scott, D.O.

Standards Committees

  • Philip Mesisca, Chair
  • Christine Beswick
  • Salvatore Caradonna, Ph.D.
  • Terri Ginsberg, D.O.
  • George Scott, D.O.
  • Rosalyn Vinson
  • Linda Boyd, D.O., Chair
  • Martin Forsberg, M.D.
  • Diane Generao
  • Michael Rieker, Chair
  • Vincent DeRisio, D.O.
  • Frank MacLeon
  • Christine Beswick, Chair
  • Sima Bennett, M.P.H.
  • Patrick Chadd, Ed.D.
  • Martin O'Connor, M.A.
  • Lt. Philip Powers
  • Jan Skica, M.L.A.
  • Andrew Wagner
  • Shir Miretzky, OMS3 (Student Tech Rep)
  • George Scott, D.O., Chair
  • Deanna Janora, M.D.
  • Tanya Kadras-Iannuzzi, D.O.
  • Dean Micciche, M.A.
  • J. Niel Rosen, J.D., Ph.D.
  • Millicent King Channell, D.O., Chair
  • Danielle Cooley, D.O.
  • Kathleen Ostberg
  • Victor Scali, D.O.
  • Robin Shemeley
  • Shiyuan Wang, Ph.D.
  • Jonathan Lee, OMS3
  • Christina Spoleti, OMS2
  • Nhi Tran, PS3, PBL
  • Ronald Ellis, Ph.D., Chair
  • John Bergatnolli ,D.O.
  • Jacqueline Giacobbe, M.S., M.A.
  • Terri Ginsberg, D.O.
  • Philip Mesisca, M.B.A.
  • Rosalyn Vinson
  • Carl Hock, Ph.D., Chair
  • Esther Deblinger, Ph.D.
  • Marion Dugan
  • Adarsh Gupta, D.O.
  • Eric Moss, Ph.D.
  • Donald Noll, D.O.
  • Lisa Price, M.L.S.
  • Kenneth Stagliano, Ph.D.
  • Venkat Venkataraman, Ph.D.
  • Kathryn Lambert, D.O., Chair
  • Lisa Cardello, M.A., Ed.S.
  • Ferin Ford, M.A.
  • Kathryn Garnier, D.O.
  • Elina Maymind, M.A.
  • Dean Micciche, M.A.
  • Paula Watkins, M.A.S.
  • Christine Willse, M.B.A.
  • Regina Wilmes, M.A.
  • Tara Beck, OMS4
  • Michael DeFilipo, OMS3
  • Mandeep Pabla, OMS2
  • Alison Mancuso, D.O., Chair
  • Linda Boyd, D.O.
  • Joanne Kaiser-Smith, D.O.
  • Sheila Seddon
  • Charles Tucker, M.A.
  • Tamer Raouf, OMS4
  • Pamela Basehore, Ed.D., Chair
  • Jennifer Fischer, Ph.D.
  • Christopher Hamer
  • Sandra Rollins, M.A.
  • Bridget Temme-Soifer, M.A.
  • Shiyuan Wang, Ph.D.
  • Jacqueline Giacobbe, M.S., M.A., Chair
  • Sandra Rollins, M.A.
  • Regina Wilmes, M.Ed.

Summary of Programmatic Level Objectives

Detailed information about RowanSOM's curriculum is available in the "Programmatic Level Objectives and Course Descriptions for the Tensegrity Curriculum."