Skip to main content

Congratulations to the following RowanSOM individuals who have completed the DEI Certificate

Pamela Basehore, Kristin Bertsch, Chrissy Beswick, Brandi Blanton, Danielle Carcia (Affiliate), Lisa Cardello, Millicent Channell, Amanda Coltri, Renee Demarest, Danielle DiPietro, Mary Duggan, Allen Ecker, Yvette Flanagan, Patricia Fortunato, Gail Forman, Marybeth Foyle, Steve Garwood, Jacqueline Giacobbe, Alyssa Goetaski, Charles Greenberg, Christopher Hamer, Nigel James, Marilou Jean-Louis, Alayna Kacerja, Tanya Kadrmas-Iannuzzi, Kristine Kong, Karen Krieg, Nicholas LaTorre,  Sheila Lewis, Kathleen Locklear, Allison Mancuso, Francesca Martelli, Brittany Mitchell, Catherine Neary, Elizabeth Niedringhaus, Martin O’Connor, Aubrey Olson, Yvonne Ortiz, Nichelle Peaks-Webster, Joanne Petrides, Joelle Reyes, Elizabeth Santini, Robin Shemeley, Jessica Singh, Ferin Speaks, Coleen Tenuto, Venkateswar Venkataraman, Meagan Vermeulen, Rosalyn Vinson, Shiyuan Wang, Christine Willse, Regina Wilmes, and Diane Worrad 

Congratulations to the following RowanSOM individuals who have completed the Inclusive Pedagogy and Practices Certificate

Renee Demarest, Inclusive Medical Graduate Education

Mary Duggan, Best Practices for Inclusive Staff-Led Student Programs

Patricia Fortunato, Universal Design, Health Communication, and Addiction Medicine

Nigel James, Inclusivity and Accessibility for Prospective Students at Rowan SOM

Catherine Neary, Improving Accessibility with Signs

Yvonne Ortiz, Re-designing Medical Admissions Interviews for Inclusion of Neurodivergent Candidates

Joelle Reyes, Comparative Analysis of Osteopathic Medical School Accommodations

Elisha Stevenson, NJ AHEC Scholars Inclusive Application Process

Christine Willsie, Student Financial Aid Communications Management Content for the Inclusive Audience

Dr. Danielle Weitzer, 2020 AMA Excellence in Medicine Award

Dr. Weitzer LGBTQ Health Award

Congratulations to Dr. Danielle Weitzer for receiving the 2020 AMA Excellence in Medicine Award for LGBTQ Health.  You can view a view of the award ceremony HERE

2021 Excellence in Diversity Award Winners

We are proud to announce that The Black Collective and Dean Paula Watkins have received recognition in the 2021 Excellence in Diversity Awards! Congratulations on this accomplishment and thank you for your hard work and dedication! 

Excellence in Diversity for the Study or Practice of Medicine

The Black Collective, RowanSOM

The Black Collective

We recognize The Black Collective RowanSOM (TBC) for their work advancing equity and inclusion. Since 2020, the Black medical students and alumni of TBC have worked hard to identify and transform cultural and structural barriers to success for students of color in medical education. They have partnered with Rowan SOM administration and the Division of DEI to ensure meaningful change and established mentorship networks to support students academically and professionally. We admire TBC for their persistence and commitment to equity and community! 

Excellence in Diversity for Social Activism

Paula Watkins, RowanSOM Assistant Dean for Admissions

Dean Paula Watkins

Congratulations to Paula Watkins, Rowan SOM Assistant Dean for Admissions, for her work cultivating diverse future physicians and shaping the future in the osteopathic tradition. Assistant Dean Watkins has championed diversity through her redesign of recruitment processes, work encouraging high school students in underserved communities to pursue careers in medicine, recruitment of medical students from underrepresented groups, influencing the creation of the SOM Diversity Task Force, and lending her diversity recruitment leadership to other osteopathic medical schools through the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine. SOM anticipates the composition of this year’s incoming class to be 30% underrepresented minorities as a result of her leadership. Thank you Assistant Dean Watkins for your vision, passion, and leadership!


Congratulations to the new Student Government Association President!

Student Doctor Melvin Ways